Women of note logo

back to home page back to Contents page back to Composers page

celebrating three hundred years of music by women

Julie Candeille (1767-1834)

Emilie Julie Candeille was prolific from an early age as composer and performer, actress and author. She appeared before the King aged thirteen, at fourteen was engaged to sing at the Opera, and a year later took the title role in Gluck's Iphigénie en Aulide. Next she became an actress and made her debut at the Comedie Francaise in 1785, and after five years there, joined the Theatre Francaise. She created a sensation there in 1792 as star performer, playright and composer in 154 performances of her operetta Catherine, ou la belle fermière. She made two unsuccessful marriages, and took to leaving France when life became difficult. As well as her theatre music, she composed several concertos, including two for several instruments, and various piano works. Many of her writings were published.

Click on these works for more details below:
Back to Contents
Piano Concerto in D, Op 2, 1787
1. Allegro Maestuoso, D major. 2. Andante gratioso con espressione, G minor. 3. Rondo: Allegro spirituoso, D major
2 ob, 2 hn, string, solo piano. 18 mins
This is her only surviving concerto, and it was published in her lifetime with the quaint spelling of the movement titles listed above. It dates from the year of Haydn's 'Paris' symphonies, and the slow movement certainly suggests she knew her Haydn. It alternates, then varies sections in the minor and major. The outer movements are quite economical with orchestral ideas, though more expansive when the solo has the field to itself. The rondo theme has a happy way of returning in the 'wrong' key, but all is neatly balanced by the end. The whole has a brilliant D major feel, as characteristic in the classical era.

Back to Contents
Trio ou Nocturne pour Piano, Violon et Violoncelle, Op 11
1. Allegro spirito, D major. 2. Romanza, B flat. 3. Adagio molto maestoso, D major. 4. Thema Allego, F major. Andantino con motto, D major. 3 Variations. Thema. 15 mins
An attractive, short Trio, with fine filigree elaborations in the variations.

Back to Contents
Troi Sonatas pour le Fortepiano avec accompagnement de Violon, Op 1
No 3: Allegro un poco presto, E flat. Andante agitato, C minor. Rondo: Allegretto, E flat
It would be possible to play this work as a piano sonata, though more interesting as a duo. The Andante alternates minor and major episodes (similar to the concerto slow movement). The Finale is a very perky Rondo.
back to top