Back to Navigation page
Women of Note logo
two hundred and fifty years
of music by women
Maria Theresia von Paradis (1759-1824)

cover of the Fantasie in C Mostly known as the blind pianist for whom Mozart wrote his piano concerto No 18 in B flat K456, Paradis was also a composer herself. She studied with Mozart's rivals Kozeluch and Salieri. Haydn also wrote a concerto for her (H XVIII:4). From 1783-6 she made an extensive concert tour of Europe. By 1789 she was devoting more time to composition than performance. She wrote at least five operas, various cantatas, lieder, and numerous piano works. Her compositions combine the lyrical features of the Viennese and Italian styles with the more dramatic nature of the Berlin school.

Click on these works for more details below:
Back to Contents
Overture to 'Der Schulkandidat' 1792
Allegro, C major. 2fl, 2ob, 2cl, 2bn, 2tpt, timp, strings. 5 mins
This was Paradis's second opera and it is currently her only surviving stage work. It is a pastoral singspiel in three acts, which was premiered in the Marinelli Theatre in Vienna on December 5 1792. The overture's orchestration favours the wind instruments and the 6/8 rhythm suggest a gigue. It makes a charmingly fresh concert opener.
Published by Hildegard, POBox 332, Bryn Mawr, PA 19010, USA

Back to Contents
Sicilienne for violin & piano
Andantino, E flat major. 5 mins
This charming little slow movement may be of dubious authenticity; some think it's the work of its purported discoverer Samuel Dushkin. Who ever wrote it knew how to create a very attractive lilting dance, and meanwhile Paradis gets the credit!

Back to Contents
Fantaisie pour le Pianoforte, G major. c1807
Adagio - Allegro - Andante - Allegro assai - Andante grazioso - Presto. 12 mins
A fantasia in the style of the Mozart piano fantasias, with several sections of different tempi, and a dramatic, improvisatory atmosphere.

Back to Contents
Fantaisie, C major. 1811
Moderato - Adagio - Allegro. 10 mins
Arpeggiated figures produce an exploratory feel in the Moderato. There is a noble and expansive Adagio in E flat; and the finale rollicks home in 6/8.

Back to top or Back to Navigation page